U. S. CIVIL WAR
Tredegar Iron Works (1865), with foot bridge to Neilson's Island, now called
The current N.P.S. Visitors Center is at the location marked " C ". (The exposed beams caused by an 1863 fire are visible.)
The Tredegar Iron Works, named for an iron works in Wales, covered nearly five
acres during the Civil War and operated day and night to satisfy the demands of
the Confederacy for artillery, ammunition, and other war-related
Brigadier General Joseph Reid Anderson
Tredegar, along with other smaller foundries in Richmond, produced almost 1,100 field and siege cannon, including one that was mounted on a railroad flat car. Its rolling mills produced armor plating that protected the casemates of several southern warships, including the C.S.S. Virginia.
After the Civil War, Tredegar never cast cannon. Markets for railroad spikes, freight cars, and car wheels, as well as horseshoes, kept the firm profitable.
Today, the Tredegar Iron Works serves as the main visitor center for the Richmond National Battlefield Park. It includes three floors of exhibits with unique artifacts on loan from other Civil War history institutions.
Source: Richmond National Park Service, and others.
- The outside elevator to the upper level.
|Except for the items provided with permission to the author of this Site, this complete Site is Copyright ; 2000 - 2017. All Rights are Reserved. No portion of this site, including this index page and any of the separate pages, may be copied, retransmitted, reposted, duplicated or otherwise used without the express written permission of USA Civil War.com.|